APTA | Passenger Transport
July 5, 2010

In This Issue


The 14 help wanted ads in this week's classifieds offer such jobs as a transit agency general manager and an executive director in academia!


LaHood Announces Transit Rail Advisory Safety Committee

Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood has announced the 20 members of the Transit Rail Advisory Committee for Safety (TRACS), a newly formed committee that will assist the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) with developing national safety standards for rail transit.

This advisory committee will guide the FTA’s safety rulemaking agenda if the final legislation is passed by Congress and signed by the president. As it currently stands, FTA is prohibited from implementing national safety standards or performing oversight of the State Safety Organizations (SSO).

The committee’s recommendations will help FTA develop new policies and practices and, should FTA be given authority to promulgate new transit safety requirements, new regulations for enhancing rail transit safety.

“We must take measures to ensure that safety margins are maintained as our systems grow older and experienced workers retire in increasing numbers,” said FTA Administrator Peter M. Rogoff. “This advisory committee of industry experts will lay the foundation for the implementation of national safety standards...”

DOT selected the 20 members of the Transit Rail Advisory Committee for Safety from among 79 applicants from all parts of the nation. They represent state and local transit agencies, state safety oversight organizations, transit employee unions, industry associations, and other stakeholders:
* William Bates, Amtrak conductor, United Transportation Union (Local 1933) legislative representative and vice local chair, Richmond, VA
* Bernadette Bridges, executive director of the Office of Safety and Risk Management, Maryland Transit Administration, Baltimore
* Eric Cheng, programs manager, Federal Railroad Crossing Safety Improvement, Utah DOT, Salt Lake City
* Diane Davidson, director of the Center for Transportation Analysis, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Knoxville, TN
* Joe Diaz, manager of safety, security, and training, Hillsborough Area Regional Transit Authority, Tampa, FL
* James Dougherty, chief safety officer, Washington Metropolitan Area Transportation Authority
* David Genova, assistant general manager for safety and security facilities, Regional Transportation District, Denver
* Georgetta Gregory, Rail Safety Group, California Public Utilities Commission, Sacramento, CA
* William Grizard, director of safety, APTA
* Leonard Hardy, manager of operations-safety division, San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District, Oakland, CA
* Henry Hartberg, senior manager-safety (bus and rail), Dallas Area Rapid Transit
* Rick Inclima, director of safety, Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees Division, Washington, DC
* Jackie Jeter, president/business agent/safety officer, Amalgamated Transit Union, Washington, DC
* Linda Kleinbaum, deputy executive director of administration, Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA), New York, NY
* Amy Kovalan, chief safety and security officer/senior vice president-safety, security, and risk compliance, Chicago Transit Authority
* Richard Krisak, assistant general manager-rail operations, Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority
* Tamara Lesh, deputy general counsel, Tri-County Metropolitan Transportation District of Oregon, Portland, OR
* Pamela McCombe, director of safety, Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority
* Alvin Pearson, assistant general manager, Memphis Area Transit Authority
* Ed Watt, director of health and safety, Transport Workers Union of America, New York, NY

« Previous Article Return to Top | Return to Main Next Article »

© Copyright © 2008 American Public Transportation Association 1666 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 496-4800 • Fax (202) 496-4321

Search Back Issues