APTA | Passenger Transport
October 26, 2009

In This Issue

Find 14 public transit job opportunities in the classifieds!

Highlighting the Pioneering Signatories of the 2009 Pilot Phase of the APTA Sustainability Commitment

On Jan. 1, 2009, APTA launched the pilot phase of its Sustainability Commitment.

As Fred Hansen, chair of the APTA Sustainability Task Force and general manager/chief executive officer of Portland’s Tri-County Metropolitan Transportation District of Oregon, has noted: “Increasing public and political attention is being paid to the role of transportation in addressing climate change and energy security issues, while also improving the livability of our communities. For this reason, it is particularly important to have a large majority of APTA members sign on to this commitment if we are to credibly promote the sustainability credentials of the transit industry in the eyes of a new Congress and new administration, as well as the public at large.”

Since January, 43 APTA members have signed on and committed to a core set of actions on sustainability. These include:
* Making sustainability a part of their organization’s strategic objectives;
* Identifying a sustainability champion within their organization;
* Establishing an outreach program on sustainability for their employees; and
* Setting a base-line measurement of key sustainability indicators (such as carbon emissions, fuel and water use, pollutants).

APTA members were able to sign on voluntarily to the pilot phase of the commitment by Sept. 30, 2009.

APTA will launch the Sustainability Commitment in its final form in January 2010 for all APTA members.

Further information on the program is available from Petra Mollet.

Here are the 43 signatories to the APTA Sustainability Commitment in its 2009 phase:
AECOM, New York, NY
Ben Franklin Transit, Richland, WA
Bombardier Transit Corporation, Saint-Bruno, PQ, Canada
Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Austin, TX
CDM, Cambridge, MA
Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District, Urbana, IL
Chapel Hill Transit, Chapel Hill, NC
DRI Inc., Dallas, TX
ERM West Inc., Bellevue, WA
Foothill Transit, West Covina, CA
Greater Bridgeport Transit Authority, Bridgeport, CT
Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority, Cleveland, OH
Greater Lynchburg Transit Company, Lynchburg, VA
Greater Peoria Mass Transit District, Peoria, IL
Hampton Roads Transit, Hampton, VA
HDR Inc., Omaha, NE
IMPulse NC, Inc., Mount Olive, NC
Indianapolis Public Transportation Corporation (IndyGo), Indianapolis, IN
InfraConsult, Scottsdale, AZ
Intercity Transit, Olympia, WA
King County Department of Transportation, Metro Transit Division, Seattle, WA
Lea+Elliott, Inc., San Francisco, CA
Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Los Angeles, CA
Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority, Atlanta, GA
Mountain Metropolitan Transit, Colorado Springs, CO
MTA New York City Transit, New York, NY
National Railroad Passenger Corp. (Amtrak), Washington, DC
New Jersey Transit Corporation, Newark, NJ
Paratransit Inc., Sacramento, CA
Parsons Brinckerhoff, New York, NY
Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority, St. Petersburg, FL
Proterra LLC, Golden, CO
San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency, San Francisco, CA
San Mateo County Transit District, SamTrans bus service, San Carlos, CA
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority, San Jose, CA
Sound Transit, Seattle, WA
South Coast British Columbia Transportation Authority (TransLink), Vancouver, BC, Canada
Telvent Transportation North America, Rockville, MD
Transit Authority of River City, Louisville, KY
Triangle Transit, Durham, NC
Tri-County Metropolitan Transportation District of Oregon, Portland, OR
Utah Transit Authority, Salt Lake City, UT
VIA Metropolitan Transit, San Antonio, TX

« Previous Article Return to Top | Return to Main Next Article »

© Copyright © 2008 American Public Transportation Association 1666 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 496-4800 • Fax (202) 496-4321

Search Back Issues