APTA | Passenger Transport
October 20, 2008

In This Issue


The 2008 APTA Annual Meeting and EXPO in San Diego was a huge success!


Read all about it.

APTA Elects Scott, Carter, Scanlon at Annual Business Meeting

Beverly A. Scott, Ph.D., general manager of the Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority, was elected APTA chair for 2008-2009 during the Oct. 5 Annual Business Meeting in San Diego, held during the 2008 APTA Annual Meeting and EXPO.

The association also elected Mattie P. Carter, a commissioner of the Memphis Area Transit Authority, as first vice chair, and Michael Scanlon, general manager/chief executive officer of the San Mateo County Transit District and Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board (Caltrain) in San Carlos, Calif., to a third term as APTA secretary-treasurer. Each officer serves a one-year term.

Michael S. Townes, president/chief executive officer of Hampton Roads Transit in Hampton, Va., is the immediate past chair of APTA.
This is the first time in APTA’s history that both the chair and the first vice chair are women, as well as five of the 14 vice chairs on the Executive Committee.

Vice Chairs

The following people were elected to their first one-year terms as APTA vice chairs:

J. Barry Barker, executive director, Transit Authority of River City, Louisville, KY, vice chair-government affairs.

Doran J. Barnes, executive director, Foothill Transit, West Covina, CA, vice chair-human resources.

Sharon Greene, principal, Sharon Greene and Associates, Laguna Beach, CA, vice chair-business members.

Delon Hampton, Ph. D., P.E., chairman of the board, Delon Hampton & Associates, Chartered, Washington, DC, vice chair-business member-at-large.

APTA elected six vice chairs to second terms:

Linda Bohlinger, vice president, national director of management consulting, HNTB Corporation, Santa Ana, CA, vice chair-research and technology.

Flora M. Castillo, board member, New Jersey Transit Corporation, Newark, vice chair-transit board members.

Joyce Eleanor, CEO, Community Transit, Snohomish County, WA, vice chair-bus and paratransit operations.

Angela Iannuzziello, president, ENTRA Consultants, Markham, ON, vice chair-Canadian members.

Gary C. Thomas, president, executive director, Dallas Area Rapid Transit, vice chair-rail transit.

Matthew O. Tucker, director, Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation, Richmond, VA, vice chair-state affairs.

These four people were elected to their third terms on the Executive Committee:

Richard J. Bacigalupo, federal relations manager, Orange County Transportation Authority, Orange, CA, vice chair-management and finance.

Thomas J. Costello, assistant managing director, Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District, Urbana, IL, vice chair-marketing.

Hugh Mose, general manager, Centre Area Transportation Authority, State College, PA, vice chair-small operations.

David Solow, chief executive officer, Southern California Regional Rail Authority, Los Angeles, vice chair-commuter and intercity rail.

Board of Directors
The following transit system representatives were elected to four-year terms as regional directors:

Region I (Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, Rhode Island): Alfred J. Moscola, general manager, Rhode Island Public Transit Authority, Providence.

Region II (New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, District of Columbia, North Carolina, South Carolina): Mary Jo Morandini, general manager, Beaver County Transit Authority, Rochester, PA.

Region III (Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Arkansas, Louisiana, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands): Full term, Joe Murray Rivers, executive director, Chatham Area Transit Authority, Savannah, GA; term expiring in 2010, Steven L. Myers, director, Lee County Transit, Fort Myers, FL.

Region IV (Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Michigan, North Dakota, South Dakota): Full term, Sandy Draggoo, CEO/executive director, Capital Area Transportation Authority, Lansing, MI; term expiring in 2010, Mark Donaghy, executive director, Greater Dayton Regional Transit Authority, Dayton, OH.

Region V (Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, New Mexico, Iowa, Missouri): John L. Hendrickson, general manager, Waco Transit System, Waco, TX.

Region VI (Idaho, Nevada, Arizona, Washington, Oregon, California, Alaska, Hawaii, Guam): Jeanne Krieg, CEO, Eastern Contra Costa Transit Authority, Antioch, CA.

Region VII (Canada): Gary McNeil, managing director and CEO, GO Transit, Toronto.

Business Member Directors
The APTA membership elected the following business members to two-year terms as business member directors:

Robert Brownstein, vice president, AECOM Consult, New York, NY.

David Hillock, president, Transit Associates Inc., Lisle, IL.

Rosa Macrito, president/CEO, Priority Manufacturing Inc., Schiller Park, IL.

Jeffrey Wharton, executive vice president/general manager, IMPulse NC Inc., Mount Olive, NC.

Also, Stanley J. Rosenbaum, division vice president for Jacobs Edwards and Kelcey in New York City, was named to fill a business member term ending in 2009 on the APTA board, representing Region I.


« Previous Article Return to Top | Return to Main Next Article »

© Copyright © 2008 American Public Transportation Association 1666 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 496-4800 • Fax (202) 496-4321

Search Back Issues